Tree of life or wicked evil

Proverbs 15:4 “The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.”  15:28 “The heart of the righteous weighs its answers, but the mouth of the wicked gushes evil.”

I have found that one of the hardest things to do is to hold my tongue when I am hurt or frustrated.  Life is full of frustrating events and what we do in those moments says a lot about the state of our spirit.  When frustration peaks I don’t seem to have a problem telling someone that I am frustrated with their actions or lack of, however is this what God desires for me or my loved one?  I would dare to say no.

When I am frustrated I seem to verbally vomit all over someone and then regret my actions.  You see no one is responsible for my words except me.  How I respond to a situation is completely up to me.  I have a choice to become angry or sit for a moment with my Heavenly Father and weigh my options according to His word.  Lashing out in anger or frustration has never brought peace or comfort to my soul, let alone the person on the other end.

I am not saying that it is not ok to be frustrated or hurt.  God’s words tell us in those moments stop and seek His words which will bring life not evil.  I am learning that trying  to control my tongue is one of the hardest things to do when I am hurt or frustrated.  It is easy to be nice when you are not hurting, but God wants us to use our words for building up and not tearing down. So, speak with kindness and love.  When you are frustrated or angry hold your tongue and seek guidance from the one who sets us free.  Stop before you speak and write out your anger, frustration, and pain.  When you take the time to process your anger and frustration before speaking it helps you come from a place of construction instead of destruction.

Father, You have given me two ears and one mouth help me to use my ears to hear Your still small voice before I use my mouth to bring hurt or pain from my lips.  I want my words to be pleasing to you even in times of frustration and pain.  Father you are the healer of all and You bring calm to the storms of life, for this I am forever grateful.  In Jesus Name, Amen

One thought on “Tree of life or wicked evil

Leave a Reply

