Heart of Stone becomes….

Ezekiel 11:19 “I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them; I will remove from them their heart of stone and give them a heart of flesh.”

Imagine if you will, a piece of petrified wood.  Petrified wood happens when trees are covered with sediment and groundwater rich in minerals seeps into the tree.  These minerals harden over time causing the tree to become a fossil instead of decaying and returning to the earth as nutrients.

As we live life often times we allow the negative words and actions of others to seep into our hearts causing them to become hardened or calcified.  When a heart becomes hardened it is difficult to see anything good in life; we look at life through the lens of negativity.  Just like the wood becoming a fossil takes years, our hearts too take years to become hardened.  It starts small then over time grows until all we can see is negativity, no matter what is going on in our lives.

God knows that we are prone to this type of thinking and that our hearts have the ability to become hardened by life.  When we seek God, moment by moment, we allow Him to replace our hearts with a new spirit.  This new spirit allows God to remove the negativity from our hearts and replace it with a heart of flesh.  This heart of flesh is open, honest, loving, and most importantly, forgiving.

Thank you, Heavenly Father, for opening my eyes to the pain I hold in my heart.  I seek your peace and ask that you soften my heart where it has become hard from life.  Open my eyes to see the blessings in my life and not focus on the past, but allow you to mold and guide my future.  Put in me a new spirit that replaces my heart of stone into a heart of flesh.  In Jesus Name, Amen

Leave a Reply

