What do you treasure?

Matthew 6:19-21 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

When I look around at all the “things” I have I  become overwhelmed.  God has blessed me with so much; however I don’t think I have often appreciated what He has done for me.  What matters most is not the home I live in, what my furniture looks like, or even how clean my home is.  What matters most are the relationships that I have and the way that I treat people.

God gives and God takes away, but my soul is forever His.  If I am truly living the way God wants me to live I would be more concerned about how I treat people instead of playing the comparison game.

I, like a lot of people,  lived by trying to keep up with everyone else.  I would spend money I did not have, buy things I did not need, and be stressed out over all the “stuff”.  I realize that by doing that I missed out on so much.  I am not living with regret just new prospective.  The relationships that I have built and continue to build are what matter most in life.  When I am dead and gone my “stuff” will disappear, but I will continue to live because of the lives that I have touched.  So, when I am feeling overwhelmed by the clutter in my life I need to remember that the stuff will disappear, but my heart remains.

Father God, thank you for all the blessings you give me everyday.  I thank you for all the little things like a pillow to lay my head on, blankets to cover with, and a bed to sleep on.  I praise and thank you for the people you have placed in my life; without them I would not be the person I am today.  You have blessed me with an amazing family who have given me the courage and strength to be who I am.  You continue to amaze me with every passing day.  Help me Lord on days when I feel overwhelmed by life or my feelings get hurt to remember that it is not about the “things” but instead about relationship: love, grace, kindness, and forgiveness.  Strengthen me today to walk the path less taken and find strength in the little things.  In Jesus Name, Amen

Leave a Reply

