When Satan Attacks

Genesis 3:13 “Then the Lord God asked the woman, ‘What have you done?’ ‘The serpent deceived me,’ she replied. ‘that’s why I ate it.'”

Ever notice how when you are attacked by the evil one it is usually in one of 5 ways? He uses doubt, discouragement, diversion, defeat, and delay. When doubts comes in we question God’s word and his goodness. Discouragement allows the spirt of offense into our hearts and minds. Diversion draws our attention to our fleshly desires, causing us to take our eyes off of Jesus. Defeat plays our failures over and over in our minds causing us to believe the worst about ourselves. Finally, delay, aka procrastination, causes us to put things off until the last minuet which increases our anxiety, worry, fear, etc.

If we know how the evil one attacks why are we not more in tune to his game? Why do we continually allow him to steal our joy?

The answer is simple, we are weak on our own. When we choose to focus our attention on things of this world we will get caught up in this world but, if we take the time to meditate on God’s word and seek His wisdom we are better able to spot the devil’s schemes. We will not be perfect at this because we live in a fallen world. At the same time. God tells us to confess our sins and they are forgiven. So, when you catch yourself be tricked by the evil one or act in a way that is not pleasing to God, go to God seek forgiveness.

Heavenly Father, I am so sorry for all the times I have doubted your love for me. I know what your word says yet there are times when I focus on my flesh and my circumstances and do not look to you for guidance or peace. Father, help me as I continue to learn what it looks like to completely follow you and your plan for my life. Help me to recognize satan’s schemes and areas where I allow him to control my mind, heart, and life. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Leave a comment