Gracefully Broken

Psalm 147:3 ” God heals the broken hearted and binds up their wounds.”

“Gracefully Broken” by Matt Rodman – I have heard this song thousands of time yet this time I heard it loud and clear. God is gracefully breaking away the hurt in my life.

We all carry around some type of hurt from our past, either things we have done to others (regret, guilt, shame) or things that have been done to us (abuse, name calling). When we hold on to these pains our wounds cannot heal. It is like a cut on our skin. First, it bleeds. The hurt is raw and new. Then a scab takes its place. This scab, wound, if small enough begins to disappear over time. If the wound is deep it leaves behind a scar. If we cover this wound up and it becomes infected we become ill. The same is true of our spirit and soul. When we are wounded and push those wounds “under the rug” we cannot heal and our souls becomes infected with bitterness, unforgiveness, and resentment.

We cannot be afraid of opening up to what God wants to do with the hurts, and wounds, from our past. We need to sit with God and listen as He directs our path because He wants us to be healed from the pain and heartache of this world. If we don’t look at our past and release the hurt, pain, and even traumas we continually reopen that wound. An open wound cannot not turn to a scar. The scar show that there was once a wound and through the grace and love of Christ that wound is no more. All that is left behind is the scar, or a memory of what was.

Father in Heaven, I am tired of trying to control my life and covering all the wounds that go with living in this sin soaked world. I come to You to be restored in You, to surrender my life and my will to Your care and control. Help me Father to look at one wound at a time and allow Your grace and mercy to cleanse me from all the bitterness, unforgiveness,and resentment of these wounds. I want my wounds to be scars of healing because of Your love and mercy. In Jesus Name, Amen

Leave a comment